Annapolis, Maryland

Though there are countless fun weekend events and activities in the heart of Washington, DC, there are also so many exciting day trips to take, too! Annapolis, Maryland, is one of my favorite places to visit for a little getaway, as it’s only about 45 minutes or so from DC. I first visited when I was in my teens with my family, and I remembering adoring this little coastal town. I’ve since been twice since living in DC, but it was about three years ago that I last visited. Luckily, we went back just a few days ago!

Many of my friends are big runners, and they had a race the next day & needed to go to the race expo. I’m glad we decided to make a day trip of it, as it was a great excuse to spend the day in Annapolis! After picking up their packets and exploring the expo at the Navy Stadium, we headed into town. Annapolis is a quaint town right on the bay, and it’s also the capital of Maryland – and home to the US Naval Academy (where some of my family has attended!). We had a delicious seafood lunch overlooking the Annapolis harbor, ventured up and down the cobblestone streets, enjoyed afternoon red wine flights at a favorite local wine bar, popped in and out of some cute shops, and chased the sunset over the bay. I’m a sucker for chasing sunsets, and this one was so soft and stunning! It was a beautiful and chilly Fall day, and I know we all had a great time exploring this charming coastal town together. These friends are such a blessing to me, and it’s crazy to think that I barely knew many of them just a year ago. They’re so much fun, and I love our time together.

Have you ever visited Annapolis? What are your favorite day trips? I would love to hear!

8 thoughts on “Annapolis, Maryland

Leave a Reply

